must与need区别 explaining 与 n...

python - Explaining the differences between dim, shape, rank, dimension and axis in numpy - Stack Overflow
Learn, Share, Build
Each month, over 50 million developers come to Stack Overflow to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Join the world’s largest developer community.
Display name
Email address
By registering, you agree to the
I'm new to python and numpy in general. I read several tutorials and still so confused between the differences in dim, ranks, shape, aixes and dimensions. My mind seems to be stuck at the matrix representation. So if you say that A is a matrix that looks like this:
then all I can think of is a 2x3 matrix (two rows and three columns). Here I understand that the shape is 2x3. But I really I am unable to go out side the thinking of a 2D matrices. I don't understand for example the
when it says "For N dimensions it is a sum product over the last axis of a and the second-to-last of b". I'm so confused and unable to understand this. I don't understand like if V is a N:1 vector and M is N:N matrix, how dot(V,M) or dot(M,V) work and the difference between them.
Can anyone then please explain to me what is a N dimensional array, what's a shape, what's an axis and how does it relate to the documentation of the dot() function? It would be great if the explanation visualizes the ideas.
12.5k33047
Dimensionality of NumPy arrays must be understood in the , not the mathematical sense, i.e. it's the number of scalar indices you need to obtain a scalar value.(*)
E.g., this is a 3-d array:
&&& X = np.arange(24).reshape(2, 3, 4)
array([[[ 0,
9, 10, 11]],
[[12, 13, 14, 15],
[16, 17, 18, 19],
[20, 21, 22, 23]]])
Indexing once gives a 2-d array (matrix):
array([[ 0,
9, 10, 11]])
Indexing twice gives a 1-d array (vector), and indexing three times gives a scalar.
The rank of X is its number of dimensions:
&&& X.ndim
&&& np.rank(X)
Axis is roughly synon it's used in broadcasting operations:
&&& X.sum(axis=0)